Sherlock Holmes Is Back

I haven’t seen the Sherlock Holmes movie that was released on Christmas day. Instead, I drew a likeness of the celebrated sleuth—in the pages of a Moleskine, of course.

If you’ve seen the movie, how about leaving a comment with the rank you would give it?

About Doug Geivett
University Professor; PhD in philosophy; author; conference speaker. Hobbies include motorcycling, travel, kayaking.

7 Responses to Sherlock Holmes Is Back

  1. Alex says:

    I haven’t seen the movie, yet. Jonathan, your remarks encourage me. I am, however, doubtful Downey Jr. can achieve the histrionics and eccentricity I read in Doyle’s version which are represented very well by Jeremy Brett. While some of the effects in the Brett version would disappoint the visualizers of our era, the acting by Brett and whomever plays Watson (poor Watson-actors keep getting forgotten) is well worth the attention.

  2. Doug Geivett says:

    Thanks for dropping in with your rating, Jonathan. I was a little worried about the action hero thing.

  3. Doug Geivett says:

    Thanks, Warrick, for the rating of Sherlock Holmes. I expect to see it soon. I saw Avatar last night, and today I prepared some notes about the film.

    I begin teaching a three-week course on Faith, Film, and Philosophy at Biola on Monday.

  4. Warrick Walker says:

    Doug: My wife and I saw this over the weekend. We were both encouraged to see a movie that had little to no sex or profanity while remaining highly enjoyable. If only more producers would let the acting shine through instead of resorting to the usual “modus operandi” of sex and drugs and rock’n’roll. Though we could easily see the solution to lord blackwood’s “apparent” resurrection, we still left the theatre
    feeling we had been well entertained. Robert Downey Jr. played a commendable Holmes as did the actor who played Watson(sorry,can’t remember his name). On the old 1-10 scale we both felt an 8 was realistic. P.S. We also saw Avatar in 3d which was a visual spectacle but somewhat thin on story line. Cameron’s liberal sympathies came shining through as expected.

  5. Jonathan says:

    I would give the new Sherlock Holmes three stars. It’s definitely turning him into something of an action hero, but it does retain the “deduction,” even borrowing tidbits from some of the actual stories. It’s more consistent with the original than I expected, though I admit I have only read a few. In the end, I’d say it was a “fun romp” which was not entirely unfaithful to the original vision.

  6. Doug Geivett says:

    When I’m not confused with Robert Redford, people think I look like Holmes. I get that all the time.

  7. Howard says:

    At first I thought you had drawn a self portrait, but after a careful look, it is obvious that it is Sherlock.
    It’s good to see you using your artistic skills again!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,287 other followers

