What would I be if not a Philosopher?

Bill Valicella:

Philosophy for me is the unum necessarium. I cannot imagine who I would be were I not a philosopher.

Ad amussum (same here). Can there be any other way to be a philosopher than to be some person who cannot imagine who that person would be if that person were not a philosopher?


About Doug Geivett
University Professor; PhD in philosophy; author; conference speaker. Hobbies include motorcycling, travel, kayaking, sailing.

3 Responses to What would I be if not a Philosopher?

  1. An inability to imagine genuine possibilities should not be a qualification for being a philosopher. 🙂 There surely are possible worlds where I spend most of my life being a mob enforcer, mathematician, hacker, prostitute, submariner, astronaut, civil engineer, garbage collector, bank clerk, insurance executive, sociologist, etc. There are possible worlds where I spend all my life in a coma and presumably even worlds where I spend most of my life thinking I am Caesar’s nineteenth wife. Some of these worlds are more imaginable than others, and some of them would be more satisfying than others.

    Like

  2. Adam Brown says:

    Haha funny stuff. I love it.

    Like

  3. maxbini says:

    To be a philosopher is to be a proficiens (on the way), striving, struggling – being human.

    Like

Leave a Reply

